Broward Music Educators Association

Click here to edit subtitle

Vision Statement: All Broward County students shall engage in sequential, comprehensive music instruction from kindergarten through grade twelve because music is an integral part of human existence, is academically rigorous and equal in status to all other subject areas, is project-based, collaborative, and creative.

Mission Statement: BMEA component associations, Band, Elementary, Orchestra, and Vocal, in conjunction with the Broward County School Board, will annually provide Broward’s most talented music students with the opportunity to perform in Honors Concerts comprised of their peers. The students will be chosen by audition or nomination and only the students of BMEA members are eligible to participate. Selected students will publicly perform challenging repertoire under the direction of quality guest conductors. The BMEA will also provide special recognition for All State participants.

                                     Executive Board:                                                                                                   Components:                         
John Nista, President                                             , President-Elect                          Band - BCBDA                                       Vocal - BCVTA
Ramblewood Middle School                                      Middle School
                                                                                                       Farryn Weiss, Co-chair                        John Luffred, Co-chair
Heston Curry, Past-President                                Kim Annis, Secretary                 Jess Gronberg, Co-chair                    Anthony Zoeller, Co-chair
Tequesta Trace Middle School                     W. C. Young Middle School
                                                                                                       Elementary - BCEMTA                         Orchestra - BCODA
Robert Todd, Treasurer                     Lu Anne Leone, Member-at-large
Bayview Elementary School         Embassy Creek Elementary School                   Pauline Latorre, President                         Tosha Nibb, Chair
                                                               Tara Sperry, President-elect                

   Joe Luechauer, Music & Performing Arts Curriculum Specialist                                           Donna Haynes, Arts Curriculum Specialist
   Kimberly Annis, Music & Performing Arts Instructional Facilitator

                                  State Components:                                                                                             Vendors / Patrons:

FBA - District 15                                  FEMEA - District 1                                            All County Music        Pepwear        Encore Audio
Richard Uhler, Chair                            Lu Anne Leone, Chair                                   Excellent Video Solutions        BrightStar CU       Crown Trophy
Sheldon McClean, Secretary                                                                                                                
School Board of Broward County     

FOA - District 15                                  FVA - District 15

Ellen Ways, Chair                             Sophia Beharrie, Chair                                                 
Craig Haukebo, Secretary                  Tina Gill, Chair-elect

                                                                                                  State Organizations: